BeBiodiversity We are | biodiversity

We are
biodiversity

PRESERVING BIODIVERSITY:
EVERYONE'S RESPONSIBILITY

Human activities are linked to biodiversity and the services it gives us, either directly or indirectly. We are constantly interacting with biodiversity, even if we do not live in the countryside. We enjoy the products and benefits of this biodiversity and sometimes of very distant ecosystems. This means that our actions and behaviours can also have an impact on these ecosystems, whether near or far.

BeBiodiversity We are | biodiversity

All of us
citizens, businesses and authorities
have a role to play.

Citizens can obviously make day-to-day choices that will help to preserve biodiversity. But it is extremely complex! It is clear that businesses and the authorities must also take actions.

This is what we call “co-responsibility”.

BeBiodiversity biodiversité
BeBiodiversity biodiversité BeBiodiversity biodiversité

Biodiversity affects us directly

As citizens, we live with biodiversity every day. In fact, we are this biodiversity. We are constantly interacting with it, whether through our clothes, our food, our lifestyle, our well-being or our homes.

BeBiodiversity biodiversité

There are many simple actions we can take every day to respect this biodiversity and choose “co-responsible” consumption practices.

What can I do? What can I do?

Biodiversity is also the responsibility of businesses

Biodiversity is essential for the activity of businesses (directly or indirectly). Firstly, where they are located, as this location will have abundant biodiversity. But they also use this biodiversity in their infrastructures and their production or operating processes, through their procurement policies, etc. All these actions have an impact on biodiversity and the ecosystem services.

Businesses can introduce measures to allow more sustainable production and consumption methods. Areas to explore include the search for a more biodiversity-friendly sourcing of products and materials and the reduction and reuse of waste in the production cycle (“circular economy”).

There are a number of advantages in moving towards a more sustainable economy, particularly in sectors intended to reduce environmental damage.

Within the European Union, 14.6 million jobs are dedicated to (directly and indirectly) protecting biodiversity and replenishing natural resources such as forests.

What about public authorities?

Every level of the Belgian public authorities is already taking action to preserve biodiversity. Within the Federal State, the FPS Public Health, Food Chain Safety and Environment is responsible for biodiversity.

The State is committed to defending, maintaining and even replenishing Belgian and international biodiversity and to combating the threats against it, through its National Biodiversity Strategy.

See the National Biodiversity Strategy See the National Biodiversity Strategy

REGIONAL INITIATIVES

  • In the Flemish Region, the INTERREG 2B Connect project aims to develop land and buildings in a series of pilot schemes, and to create a network of consultants specialised in supporting businesses. It includes a biodiversity review tool developed by the Province of Antwerp: the BIODIVA SCAN.

  • In the Brussels Capital Region, the Guide bâtiment durable (Sustainable building guide) and the “Resilience Design” Eco-innovation Toolkit for SMEs help Brussels organisations to take the environment into account, particularly biodiversity.

  • In the Walloon Region, the Réseau Wallonie Nature (Wallonia Nature Network) and “Entreprises Nature Admise” have adopted specific charters with volunteer businesses.

BeBiodiversity We are | biodiversity

"#BeBiodiversity", an ambitious federal campaign

In launching the “#BeBiodiversity” campaign, the State is demonstrating its desire to move up a gear. The ambition on the one hand, is to give citizens-consumers the means to choose more biodiversity-friendly products and producers and, on the other hand, to inform businesses and help them take voluntary steps to preserve biodiversity and ecosystem services.

BeBiodiversity We are | biodiversity

A tool for assessing the impact of raw materials on biodiversity

This decision-making tool is currently being built. The challenge is to create a scientifically validated approach to help businesses and public organisations quickly assess the impact of different land-based organic raw materials on biodiversity and make the best possible choices with regard to the preservation of this biodiversity.

Pilot schemes will support this process and will be showcased in communications about the project.

BeBiodiversity We are | biodiversity

This website will be made available to businesses from 2019

A tool for helping businesses take action to preserve biodiversity

The FPS Public Health, Food Chain Safety and Environment, in collaboration with the Belgian regional authorities, has launched a major project to help businesses and public organisations take actions to promote biodiversity.

A website to identify potential actions to support biodiversity will be created in 2018, with the assistance of pioneering businesses. Four areas of intervention have been selected; these are land, infrastructures, processes and sourcing policies.

BeBiodiversity We are | biodiversity

JOIN THE TEAM #BEBIODIVERSITY

We would like to work with volunteer businesses to create our tools, to ensure they are relevant and effective. These partner businesses will enjoy free expert advice and the support of our team in implementing these tools, whilst ensuring that they are suitable for their role. The businesses that work with us on this ambitious biodiversity project will be our “Pioneering Businesses”.

Latest news

BeBiodiversity Staying fashionable and respecting biodiversity

Staying fashionable and respecting biodiversity

The sales have arrived! The shelves are packed with bargains and everyone wants a new outfit. But what about the impact of fast fashion on biodiversity? Here we explained how textile production presents a threat to a large number of species. The good news is that you can remain fashionable without causing them too much harm.

Read more
BeBiodiversity Taking care of ourselves without damaging biodiversity

Taking care of ourselves without damaging biodiversity

We like taking care of ourselves. Every day, we use care products such as soap, shower gels, antiperspirants, make-up removers, shampoos, moisturizing creams, toothpaste and perfume. Altogether, each Belgian uses an average of 18 grams of cosmetic products per day. But what we think is good for us is not necessarily good for biodiversity.

Read more
BeBiodiversity Shrimp at will : doom for biodiversity

Shrimp at will : doom for biodiversity

Shrimp, scampi or prawns have long been rare, refined and expensive. But nowadays, their consumption has skyrocketed; in the world, it is estimated that by 2023, about 6 million tons of shrimp per year will be consumed! In the last 20 years, the production has been multiplied by 9. A boom that severely damages biodiversity.

Read more
BeBiodiversity Worried experts at the bedside of biodiversity

Worried experts at the bedside of biodiversity

In three years, 550 volunteer experts from 100 countries have compiled 10,000 scientific publications, supplemented by statistical data and an inventory of local traditional knowledge. The aim of this huge work coordinated by the Intergovernmental Science-Policy Platform on Biodiversity and Ecosystem Services (IPBES) was to provide global decision-makers with five reports on the state of global biodiversity.

Read more
BeBiodiversity No cocoa, no chocolate…

No cocoa, no chocolate…

Once a casual, festive and sometimes even luxurious dish, chocolate is now part of our daily eating habits. A pleasure for the taste buds and morale but to which biodiversity pays a heavy price.

Read more
Discover all our news Discover all our news

Find out more

BeBiodiversity We are | biodiversity

We are
biodiversity

PRÉSERVER LA BIODIVERSITÉ :
LA RESPONSABILITÉ DE TOUS

Les activités humaines sont liées à la biodiversité et aux services qu’elle nous rend, de manière directe ou indirecte. Nous sommes en interaction constante avec la biodiversité, même quand on ne vit pas à la campagne. Nous bénéficions de bienfaits et de produits qui sont offerts par cette biodiversité et parfois par des écosystèmes très éloignés. Cela signifie que nos actions et gestes peuvent aussi avoir un impact sur ces écosystèmes, proches ou lointains.

BeBiodiversity We are | biodiversity

Nous avons tous un rôle à jouer :
citoyens, entreprises, autorités.

Les citoyens peuvent évidemment faire des choix quotidiens qui contribuent à préserver la biodiversité. Mais c’est tellement complexe ! Il est évident que les autorités et les entreprises doivent agir aussi.

C’est ce qu’on appelle la “coresponsabilité”.

BeBiodiversity biodiversité
BeBiodiversity biodiversité BeBiodiversity biodiversité

La biodiversité, cela nous concerne directement

En tant que citoyens, nous vivons chaque jour avec la biodiversité, nous sommes cette biodiversité. Nous sommes constamment en interaction avec elle que ce soit par nos habits, par notre alimentation, par notre mode de vie, notre bien-être, notre habitation.

BeBiodiversity biodiversité

Afin de respecter cette biodiversité et de consommer de manière « coresponsable », il existe mille et un gestes faciles à faire au quotidien.

1001 gestes pour la biodiversité 1001 gestes pour la biodiversité

La biodiversité, c’est l’affaire des entreprises aussi

La biodiversité est essentielle à l’activité des entreprises (directement ou indirectement). Tout d’abord, là où elles sont situées : le lieu de leur emplacement regorge de biodiversité. Mais elles utilisent aussi cette biodiversité dans leurs infrastructures, leurs processus de production ou de fonctionnement, via leurs politiques d’achat… Toutes ces actions impactent la biodiversité et les services écosystémiques.

Les entreprises peuvent mettre en place des mesures qui permettent d’avoir des modes de consommation et de production plus durables. La recherche d’un approvisionnement en matériaux et en produits plus respectueux de la biodiversité ou encore la réduction et la réutilisation des déchets dans le cycle de production (« l’économie circulaire ») sont des pistes à explorer.

Le passage vers une économie plus durable présente de nombreux avantages, surtout dans les secteurs destinés à réduire les dommages causés à l’environnement.

Au sein de l’Union européenne, 14,6 millions d’emplois protègent la biodiversité (directement et indirectement) et réhabilitent les ressources naturelles telles que les forêts.

Et les pouvoirs publics ?

Les pouvoirs publics, tous niveaux de pouvoir confondus, agissent déjà pour la préservation de la biodiversité. Au sein de l’Etat fédéral, cela fait déjà plusieurs années que le SPF Santé publique, Sécurité de la Chaine alimentaire et Environnement se préoccupe de la biodiversité.

Au travers de la stratégie nationale Biodiversité, l’Etat s’est engagé à défendre, maintenir voire réhabiliter la biodiversité belge et internationale, et à s’attaquer aux menaces qui pèsent sur elle.

Voir la stratégie nationale Biodiversité Voir la stratégie nationale Biodiversité

CA SE PASSE AUSSI AU NIVEAU REGIONAL

  • En région flamande, le projet INTERREG 2B Connect vise à réaliser des aménagements de terrains et de bâtiments dans une série d’entreprises pilotes, et à mettre en place un réseau de consultants spécialisés dans l’accompagnement des entreprises. Il intègre un outil d’état des lieux de la biodiversité développé par la Province d’Anvers : le BIODIVA SCAN.

  • En région de Bruxelles Capitale, le « Guide bâtiment durable » ou encore le toolkit Eco-innovation « Resilience Design » pour les PME aident les organismes bruxellois dans la prise en compte de l’environnement et en particulier de la biodiversité..

  • En région wallonne, le Réseau Wallonie Nature et l’action « Entreprises Nature admise » adoptent des chartes bien spécifiques avec des entreprises volontaires.

BeBiodiversity We are | biodiversity

« BeBiodiversity », une campagne fédérale ambitieuse

En lançant la campagne « BeBiodiversity », l’Etat marque sa volonté de passer à la vitesse supérieure. L’ambition est d’une part de donner les moyens aux citoyens-consommateurs de choisir des produits et producteurs plus respectueux de la biodiversité et d’autre part, sensibiliser et aider les entreprises à entreprendre une démarche volontaire de préservation de la biodiversité et des services écosystémiques .

BeBiodiversity We are | biodiversity

Un outil pour évaluer l’impact des entreprises sur la biodiversité

Cet outil d’aide à la décision est en cours de construction. Le défi est d’élaborer une approche scientifiquement validée pour aider les entreprises ou les organisations publiques à évaluer rapidement l’impact de diverses matières premières organiques terrestres sur la biodiversité.

Des entreprises pilotes accompagneront cette démarche et seront mises en évidence dans les actions de communication liées au projet.

BeBiodiversity We are | biodiversity

Le site web pilote sera disponible en 2019

Un outil pour aider les entreprises à passer à l’action pour la biodiversité

Le SPF Santé publique, Sécurité de la Chaîne alimentaire et Environnement, en collaboration avec les autorités régionales, a lancé un grand chantier afin d’aider les entreprises et les organisations publiques à entreprendre des actions en faveur de la biodiversité.

Un site web destiné à dégager des idées d’actions en matière de biodiversité va être créé au cours de l’année 2017. Il sera développé avec l’aide d’entreprises pionnières. Quatre domaines d’intervention ont été choisis. Il s’agit des terrains, des infrastructures, des processus et des politiques d’achat.

BeBiodiversity We are | biodiversity

JOIN THE TEAM BEBIODIVERSITY

Pour que nos outils soient pertinents et efficaces, nous souhaitons les construire avec des entreprises volontaires. Ces entreprises partenaires bénéficieront gratuitement de l’expertise et de l’accompagnement de notre équipe dans la mise en place de ces outils tout en veillant à ce que ces derniers soient adaptés à leurs réalités. Ces entreprises qui s’engagent avec nous dans ce projet ambitieux pour la biodiversité seront nos « Entreprises Pionnières ».

Dernières actus

BeBiodiversity Bois et instruments de musique

Bois et instruments de musique

Malgré d’importantes avancées concernant notre connaissance des matériaux, le bois reste le matériau de prédilection pour la construction des instruments de musique. Ce sont les caractéristiques uniques de poids, de dureté, de résistance et de capacité à résonner qui en déterminent l’utilisation pour les instruments à cordes, les instruments à vent et les percussions. Chaque instrument est un assemblage de bois durs et tendres à la recherche des conditions optimales de sonorité.

Lire plus
BeBiodiversity Des scampis à volonté, au grand dam de la biodiversité

Des scampis à volonté, au grand dam de la biodiversité

Crevettes, scampis ou gambas ont longtemps été des mets rares, raffinés et chers. Mais de nos jours, leur consommation a explosé : dans le monde, on estime qu’en 2023, environ 6 millions de tonnes de crevettes seront consommées par an ! En 20 ans, la production aurait été multipliée par 9. Un boum qui fait des dégâts sur la biodiversité.

Lire plus
BeBiodiversity Détruire de l’ivoire pour la défense des éléphants sauvages

Détruire de l’ivoire pour la défense des éléphants sauvages

Chaque quart d’heure, un éléphant disparaît, victime du braconnage. Les éléphants sauvages d’Afrique et d’Asie sont menacés d’extinction. L’ivoire provient des défenses, c’est-à-dire des dents des éléphants. Personne ne se risquerait à arracher les dents d’un éléphant vivant : l’abattre est la solution la plus facile pour les trafiquants.

Lire plus
BeBiodiversity Des experts inquiets au chevet de la biodiversité

Des experts inquiets au chevet de la biodiversité

En trois ans, cinq cent cinquante experts bénévoles de cent pays ont compilé dix mille publications scientifiques, complétées par des données statistiques et un inventaire des savoirs traditionnels locaux. L’objectif de ce travail colossal coordonné par la Plate-Forme intergouvernementale scientifique et politique sur la biodiversité et les services écosystémiques (IPBES) était de fournir aux décideurs de la planète cinq rapports sur l’état de la biodiversité mondiale.

Lire plus
BeBiodiversity La vanille, un plaisir bientôt inaccessible ?

La vanille, un plaisir bientôt inaccessible ?

Son arôme puissant et délicat en fait une épice très appréciée. Et bien qu’elle se retrouve un peu partout dans les produits alimentaires, les cosmétiques ou encore les huiles essentielles, la vanille fait pourtant partie des épices les plus chères avec le safran et pourrait devenir un produit aussi luxueux que ce dernier. En effet, sa production est de plus en plus menacée…

Lire plus
BeBiodiversity Les pesticides : des évolutions timides

Les pesticides : des évolutions timides

De nouvelles études et rapports confirment quotidiennement l’état alarmant de la biodiversité. Le constat ne concerne plus uniquement des espèces emblématiques telles que l’ours polaire ou le rhinocéros blanc. Les espèces les plus communes sont aussi menacées… C’est le cas des oiseaux communs dont le nombre en Wallonie a diminué de 50% en 25 ans ! Parmi les causes de ce déclin en Europe, arrivent en première place l’agriculture intensive et l’utilisation de pesticides. Le recours aux pesticides par les particuliers est également problématique. Petit récapitulatif des évolutions récentes concernant ces produits.

Lire plus
Découvrez toutes nos actus Découvrez toutes nos actus

Envie d'en savoir plus?